Love, hate and CBeebies

CBeebies is a godsend. Truly it is. I don’t know how parents coped before its invention!

When I was a child I had to find other ways of amusing myself in the mornings, and as we all know the imagination of a child is a dangerous thing. The lack of CBeebies led to me sledging down the stairs on a mattress, jumping off the shed roof, scaling the back wall of the house, seeing how many sweeteners I could put in a pint of milk, picking all the woodchip off the wallpaper, and many other crimes of youth. The only reason my mum doesn’t have grey hair is due to her hairdresser.

CBeebies saves me from having to live through such incidents. I can stick the tv on in the morning and be fairly sure that the kids won’t be requiring surgery by lunchtime. They can watch it, sing along, show me show me their groovy moves, and most importantly, leave daddy to sit in peace on the sofa. Bliss.

However, I’ve spent far too long watching it and I now have a huge list of complaints about the programs I’m forced to watch. Where to begin…

The cloudbabies. Child labour in unsafe working conditions. They’re babies who fly horses around the sky and touch the sun. Where are the H&S procedures? No riding gear, no hard hats, no nomex fireproof suits, no bloody parents taking care of them!

Bob the builder. He’s gotta be cutting corners on his builds. Everything’s built in a day! Windmill: day. Solar power plant: day. Nuclear launch facility: day. How does he manage it? Not with the help of his possessed machinery that’s for sure! They couldn’t build a Lego house without setting it on fire! And what happened between Bob and Wendy? They used to be so close, now they barely talk. What went wrong? Did she walk in on him with lofty? Was she getting some from spud? I need to know!

The rhyme rocket. What an awful bunch of wankers. I’d rather listen to Bon Jovi than share a spaceship with them and I loathe Bon Jovi with a vengeance. Their entire mission seems to be to collect rhymes to power their ship, which they will then use up to return home and then have to set off again and repeat. What’s the fucking point?!? The only reasonable answer that occurs is that they’re so annoying their home planet has sent them to complete a mission that will never end in order that they never need be seen again!

Mister maker. Dude, how much coke are you on? Your eyes are bloodshot and your hyperactivity levels are off the chart! Oh and your makes look like shit. Neil Buchanan you ain’t.

Justin Fletcher. A man with a finger in every pie. Is there an hour when he doesn’t appear on CBeebies? He’s everywhere! Something special is a very worthy program, don’t get me wrong, but do we need so many versions of it? Really? And gigglebiz has to be the most unfunny show ever made! And yes, I include Miranda in that. Oh, and if you offer to show me your tiny tumble again I’ll chop it off. You’ve been warned.

Mike the knight. Trainee knight? You’re a fucking squire you posh twat, there’s no such thing as a trainee knight. He’s a jumped up, self important little git who’s only in that position because of who his parents are. This is why nepotism is a bad thing people!

I could go on, but I fear you all stopped reading in the second paragraph. It’s ok, I’m used to talking to myself, I have kids who watch CBeebies! Oh CBeebies, how I love you and the rage inducing peace you bring me…

16 thoughts on “Love, hate and CBeebies

  1. I owe you a huge thanks and bottle is being sent your way. By just reading your blog you’ve delayed me from cleaning my bathroom – so thank you kind sir!!! I was, however, having a cup of tea as I read this and tea coming out of one’s nose whilst laughing is NOT the most pleasant of experiences!!!!! LOVED it x

  2. LOL! I think we all have a love hate relationship with Cbeebies. I hope my wee man is not thinking so deeply about it all. I’m often a bit scared to criticize Cbeebies too much because what would I do if it just you know….stopped!

    • I don’t think we need to worry about the little ones overthinking cbeebies just yet! I’ll sometimes ask dd about a show she’s just watched and she won’t be able to tell me anything about it!

  3. Good sir, I read your blog and note your complaints. However, I rebuke your charges thus:
    Octonauts to the rescue!
    Yes, I dost bite my thumb at thee! 🙂

  4. So funny and so true. It’s amazing what they show but honestly, i wouldn’t be without it some days! I reallt can’t Mr Maker personally and Rhyme Rocket? Tell you where i’d put that soddin rocket!!

  5. Great post, loved it dude. I watched Bob The Builder lay concrete mid day and slap brick on it by tea time. Bloody unrealistic!!

    • The man can build an entire house in a day and squeeze in a birthday party too! He’s cutting a lot of corners. I’m sure Donal MacIntyre will make a documentary about him soon…

Leave a Reply

