Stop the noise

I’m having a low day today. I don’t really want to talk to anyone or do anything. Conversation is a struggle. The kids are annoying and loud. They want me to interact with them, to draw cats, to be Peso the Octonaut, to get up and play. They want me to act like a human being today, but it’s too noisy for me to function like one.

The kids are noisy, the tv is noisy, outside is noisy! Why is everything so bloody noisy today?!? Can’t we all just be quiet for a while?

But that doesn’t stop the noise in my head. My brain is still talking to me, neurons firing electrical impulses around creating thoughts, telling me things I should be doing, making lists, replaying conversations I had a week ago, forcing song lyrics through my skull, pondering the future, exploring my past. My head hurts.

All I want is some quiet. Just for a while. All I need is for the noise to stop. Maybe then I could feel human.

6 thoughts on “Stop the noise

  1. I hate days like this. Today I am irritated by noise. My son whining, my husband snoring on the sofa, bloody Cbeebies and my daughter keeps whimpering and moaning but I can’t blame her she is un well.
    I’m not so bad in terms of feelings, I’m quite content today in all honesty but I know what you mean. In often crave quiet and it’s bloody frustrating when you can’t get any!!
    Don’t you men have a shed to escape to? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

